❀ rosedryad's blog ❀

New layout coming soon in 2023

I've been working on my new Neocities site layout on and off for the past several months. I'm basically reusing pixel art that I made back in January:

Image (plz excuse the poop quality that I took from my IG)

I like to reuse my art when possible since it seems like a waste to only use it for one thing!? But I did change the hair and eyes since this one is more my style than the other one:

Image

I wanted to make this layout more interactive so I added some CSS mouseover effects to switch the image to open & close the door. And I also added some Javascript.

Image

Plus I made a background similar to the one that I had made for my other site, the Sticker Sheet Club. I'm not really used to making such "busy" backgrounds.

Since there was too much empty space as is, I added some RPG elements such as the character stats:

Image

(The stats seem accurate. If I were in SAO = instant death)

And an inventory pop-up:

Image

I tried to get these to pop up with key presses but I wasn't able to get them to work properly so instead, I did the CSS mouseover effect to make the images bigger.

Back in the day, tiny pixel words and such were so cute and somehow not too difficult to read? Maybe it was because of smaller resolutions? But nowadays, I have to 2-3x zoom everything.

I still have to make some new 81x31 and 32x32 buttons to match and try to make everything look ok in different browsers. But this layout is definitely not going to be mobile-friendly at all. (╥_╥)

#layout